The Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences

Instructions and submission information for this prize are as follows:

Current prize amount:



Northwestern University invites nominations for the Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences every other year. For the 2018 award, the nomination deadline is December 1, 2017.


Candidacy for the Nemmers Prizes is open to those with careers of outstanding achievement in the field of earth sciences as demonstrated by major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis. Prizes are awarded to individuals of all nationalities and institutional affiliations, excepting current or recent members of the Northwestern University faculty and recipients of the Nobel Prize.

The recipient of the 2018 Nemmers Prize will deliver a public lecture and participate in other scholarly activities at Northwestern University for 10 weeks during the 2018-2019 academic year.

Required Materials:

  • A letter of no more than three pages describing the nominee's professional experience, accomplishments, and qualifications for the prize
  • A brief curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • Nominations from experts in the field are preferred to institutional nominations; direct applications will not be accepted

Submit Nomination Materials to: or via postal mail to:

Selection Committee for the Nemmers Prizes
Office of the Provost
Northwestern University
633 Clark Street
Evanston, Illinois 60208-1119