Skip to main content

The Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences

Nominations are currently closed.

The $300,000 Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences is awarded for achievement and works of lasting significance in the field of earth sciences. The prize was established in 2016 and first awarded in 2018. Recipients of the Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences present lectures, participate in department seminars, and engage with Northwestern faculty and students in other scholarly activities.

2022 Winner

Emily Brodsky

Emily Brodsky

University of California, Santa Cruz

For her "fundamental, transdisciplinary contributions to understanding the physics of earthquake networks at all scales." 

As an earthquake physicist, Emily Brodsky studies the mechanics underlying earthquakes to address questions about the processes that trigger earthquakes and the constraining forces that occur inside a fault zone during slip. More about Brodsky's work.

Learn about past Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences winners.

Make a Nomination

Nominations are currently closed.

Nominating letters should be a maximum of 1,000 words and describe the nominee's professional experience, accomplishments and qualifications for the award. Candidacy is open to those with careers of outstanding achievement in their discipline as demonstrated by major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis. Individuals of all nationalities and institutional affiliations are eligible except current or recent members of the Northwestern University faculty and recipients of the Nobel Prize.

Submissions should also include the nominee's curriculum vitae. Nominations from experts in the field are preferred to institutional nominations; self-nominations will not be accepted.

Learn more about the Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences at the Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences' Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences.

Submit a nomination online

Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences Medal

Questions? Please email